Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join KVMA
Site Search
Share |

Deadline for Nominations is April 30, 2016

Now is the time to nominate a veterinary friend, colleague or acquaintance for one of the KVMA Annual Awards to be presented at the 78th Annual Conference for Veterinarians on Monday, June 6 in Manhattan at the Hilton Garden Inn and Manhattan Conference Center.

Veterinarians will be honored for veterinarian of the year, distinguished service, lifetime service and KSU distinguished service. The KVMA Executive Committee is expanding the awards for 2016 to include: Rising Star Award and Health Care Team Member of the Year. In addition, the KVMA will award three awards for Pet of the Year: Professional, Hero, and Companion.

To make a nomination, please fill out the Award Nomination Form by clicking here. Contact Megan Kilgore at 785-234-0461 or to receive a printed copy. All nominations are due by April 30 for consideration.


KVMA Award Nomination Form


Awards and criteria for consideration:

Veterinarian of the Year. The KVMA Veterinarian of the Year is chosen based upon his or her contribution to the veterinary profession, the KVMA and the community.

Spouse of the Year. This award is based upon the individual’s extraordinary support of veterinary medicine.

Distinguished Service. The recipient of this honor can be an individual or group who may or may not be a veterinarian. Selection is based upon the recipient’s service to the KVMA and/or organized veterinary medicine.

Pet of the Year. Pet of the year is presented to any animal providing a noteworthy contribution to humanity. Hero, companion, and professional animals will be recognized.

Lifetime Service. The KVMA Lifetime Service Award is for an individual who has significantly given to the KVMA, veterinary profession, and community during his or her entire professional career. Nominees must be 60 years of age and a KVMA member for 20 years.

Sales Rep of the Year. This person is chosen based upon noteworthy assistance and service to organized veterinary medicine and individual veterinarians and practices.

KSU Distinguished Service. This recipient is a faculty member at the KSU College of Veterinary Medicine and selection is based on outstanding clinical/diagnostic service to KVMA members.


NEW in 2016:

Rising Star Award. This award recognizes young professionals for their contribution to veterinary medicine in Kansas. Graduates within the last ten years are eligible.

Health Care Team Member of the Year. This award was created to recognize an outstanding health care team member whose dedication raises the level of excellence in the veterinary profession. Whether for outstanding clinical competence, an unrivaled commitment to animal welfare or exceptional leadership skills.



Past Recipients

Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Nels Lindberg
Dr. Mark Olson, 2014
Dr. Jerry Schrader, 2013
Dr. Joe Fakler, 2012
Dr. Garry Cowan, 2011
Dr. Kenneth Burton, 2010

Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Richard Knewtson, 2015
Dr. Eva Dudek, 2014
Dr. Eileen Warner-Hough, 2013
Dr. Richard Barta, 2012
Dr. Pete Sherlock, 2011
George Teagarden, 2010

Lifetime Service Award
Dr. Irv Schwalm, 2015
Dr. Charles Stinchcomb, 2014
Dr. Don McReynolds, 2013
Dr. Billy LaRue, 2012
Dr. Richard Warren, 2011
Dr. Bill Skaer, 2010

KSU Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Elizabeth Davis, 2015
Dr. Shelie Laflin, 2014
Dr. Gregg Hanzlicek, 2013
Dr. Amy Rankin, 2012
Dr. Jerome Nietfeld, 2011
Dr. Dick Hesse, 2010

President’s Award
Dr. Ralph Richardson, 2015
KVMA Executive Committee, 2014
Dr. Kenneth Burton, 2013
Dr. Marty Vanier, 2012
Mr. Greg Dennis, 2011
Gary Reser, 2010

Spouse of the Year
Mrs. Sharon Mah and Mrs. Kate Shipman, 2015
Mrs. Mary Harkins, 2014
Mrs. Joan Burton, 2011
Mrs. Karen Hanson, 2011
Mrs. Brenda Cowan, 2010

Sign In
Sign In securely

11/27/2017 » 2/28/2018
2018 KVMA Convention